Full Form of SAARC

SAARC: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation

सार्क: दक्षिण एशियाई क्षेत्रीय सहयोग संगठन

The full form of SAARC is the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. SAARC is a socio-economic intergovernmental organization consists of 8 countries in the South East Asia region. The organization was founded on 8th December 1985 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. As of 2019, the SAARC comprises 3% of the World’s total area and 21% of the world’s population. It is also the 4.21% of the World’s GDP.

SAARC countries are as follows:

  • India
  • Nepal
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bhutan
  • Maldives
  • Afganistan

The primary objective of the organization is to co-operate in socio-economic issues faced by each other. Along with that, sharing human-resources, technology and agricultural development is its main objective.

Headquarter of SAARC

The Headquarter of SAARC is in Kathmandu, Nepal.